Rotation 3 Evaluation: Fashion

For fashion the brief was based around the work of an artist, we were given Egon Schiele.

We were to use his art as a source of inspiration for the project; taking colour palettes, shapes, patterns and imagery to inform our design ideas. My initial thoughs when looking through Schiele’s artwork was that there was a lot that I could take from it in terms of colour, motif, etc, to be translated into some strong garment designs.

My research began by reading up on key information about the artist, and then creating small studies of his work for which I used watercolours, fineliners, acrylic and fabric scraps. I also used one page to look specifically at the fabric prints that he has recorded in many of his paintings, of the clothes worn by his models.  The next research task involved using the internet to look at current collections (ss17) and find pieces that showed links to some of Schiele’s works. My sketchbook has five pages that show this research, and for each one I have used a variety of materials along with a catwalk image and Schiele painting to create some abstract responses to the two images. This research task was useful in projecting ideas about what linked the two elements together, as well as producing some initial ideas for designs for the final six-piece collection. The final research task was to investigate an entire collection (ss17) and consider things like the range of garments, aesthetics, suitability for the season, key design features and fabrics. By looking at a collection in this much detail it was useful in finding out about specific fabrics, techniques and prints that I might want to use in my own designs, and the Fendi collection provided a lot of inspiration.

When starting to develop our ideas we first looked at elongating a model pose to give the designs a form more similar to those used in industry. I also thought about how the pose might be stylised, using Schiele’s continuous line drawing to come up with some small sketches for the face. In this section I also used some of his paintings to create seven different colour palettes from which I could take individual colours forward into designs so they would better reflect the artists’ work.

Next I have included fabric swatches that I picked based on their similarities either visually or texturally to some Schiele paintings, and which I went on to include in my final six designs. These swatches helped in bringing the initial ideas I had to life, so I could better visualise what fabrics I might want to use and how these would work in real life. Before my design development but not included in my sketchbook are some pages from WGSN that I used as further inspiration, mostly for fabric types and garment construction by looking at the ‘flats’ templates.

 

I feel that the final piece is of a good quality. I think that the six designs are effective and each one would work well as a real garment. Design features such as gathering, layering and the use of sheer fabrics as well as some angular shapes make the designs stand out and create interest. However, I do think that the links to the artist’s work could be more clear and perhaps there could have been slightly more variation in the colour palette. These results could have been improved if I had managed my time more effectively which would have allowed me to ‘think out’ my final six garments slightly more, making full use of all my different pieces of research instead of just one or two.  img_1055

Leave a Reply

