SP3 weekly review 2

This stage of SP3 I put together three different visual boards that act as sources of inspiration for development but also are useful for showing whole elements of the project in a more concise way, using images that have been carefully selected. The first was the brand board for the retailer that I chose to design for, Zara. I took 6 or 7 images from a large selection that i’d found for the brand board and chose ones that I felt conveyed the overall image of Zara and the style of garments that it’s generally known for. I think I could have included more than one technical flat drawing here but the overall page is effective. Screen Shot 2017-03-13 at 15.24.43

I then made use of Photoshop again in creating a trend board for the Plush Luxe trend from WGSN. In the same way I was selective about the images and layout of the above brand board, I included a variety of photographs to represent how I interpreted the trend. The report on WGSN focused on the use of luxurious velvets and silk, as well as furniture-esque fringing and deep colour palettes. I was sure to include these elements, as well as my own additions like the use of fur texture, for example.

Screen Shot 2017-03-13 at 15.22.26

The third and final of these boards is a customer profile. Mainly based on the market research I had carried out for Zara I collected a range of images that I feel represent the customer’s lifestyle. I made sure to find images that seemed more ‘personal’ than some I had used in other areas of research, so Instagram was a good source for this. Using Photoshop to put these images together on a A3, I then included some small pieces of text that described details like the age range, beliefs, interests and personal style of the customer which makes the profile more specific and ‘real’.

Screen Shot 2017-03-13 at 15.24.27

The customer profile is particularly useful in designing as it gives you some form of ‘real’ focus for garment designs, such as the small pieces of text on the board that can influence design features, price points, fabric choice, decorative features, etc.

Overall, I think that the three boards are all effective and communicate the ideas behind them effectively. I am pleased with the aesthetic quality of each of them but also the fact that they are useful representations of the chosen brand, trend and customer.

 

Leave a Reply

